top of page

Debate Club for Teens

Club meetings are held virtually, on the third Thursday of each month,

from 9:00-10:15 pm Atlantic Time

(8:00 pm Eastern/7:00 pm Central/6:00 pm Mountain/5:00 pm Pacific).

The registration fee is $15 per month, or $60 from September to December.

How it runs:

The Debate Club for Teens runs once a month, and proceeds as follows:

There are six resolutions (topics) debated, with two students assigned to each topic (one in favour of the resolution and one opposed to it). These resolutions are emailed to each club member one week in advance, to allow preparation time. At the meeting, prior to each debate, all students take a vote on the resolution.

 

The two students participating in a debate are each allocated two minutes for opening statements, two minutes for rebuttals (one minute each, for two separate rebuttals), and one minute for closing remarks. The remaining club members then vote on the resolution again, and votes are tallied to see which argument wins. This is repeated six times, so that all students get the chance to participate in a debate, before a final discussion and instruction from the moderator (teacher).

  • Debate Club 101: monthly payment

    15$
    Every month
    (Select September 19th as start date)
    Valid for 4 months
    • Debate Club 101: Full Payment

      60$
       
      Valid for 4 months
      • Pay once and then forget about it!
    bottom of page